2003 Hall of Fame Inductees

Leslie Ray Appleman


Philosopher and educator par excellence.  Esteemed principal guiding several generations of Benton elementary and high school students.  With a passion for equality, he generously assisted persons of modest means to aspire to an enlarged vision of their intellectual and social potential.  Dogged by a consuming curiosity about his world, he prepared for imparting his intellectual vision through advanced studies at the Bloomsburg Normal School and Bucknell University.  His ability to predict world events years in advance made him seem omniscient. 

Percy Brewington, Jr.

Class of 1948

His degree in civil engineering from Drexel University prepared him for civilian employment with the U.S. Corps of Engineers in Mobile, Alabama, developing ballistic missile defense systems.  From 1972 to 1985, he worked with the Atomic Energy Commission and received special recognition from President Reagan for his contributions.  Retired as Lt. Colonel, U.S. Army Reserve.

William C. Follmer

Class of 1952

William Follmer began his career in 1956 at Philco Research Labs, specializing in semiconductor devices and circuit research.  He developed unique low-noise components for the Doppler Radar employed in the Lunar Lander.  As a Senior Technical Specialist for Ford, he pioneered developments in electronic controls for automotive systems linked to the engine, transmission, and brakes.  He is author of numerous technical publications and holder of several patents.  In 1995, he retired from Ford and established his own consulting company, Automotive System, Inc., in Livonia, Michigan.

Dr. Ralph Sterling Johnson, Jr.

Class of 1944

From 1944 to 1946, he served in the Army Air Corps.  Academic work included a Master’s Degree in Physics from the University of Akron, and a Ph.D. in Metallurgical Engineering from the University of Michigan.  For the Apollo Program, he developed seismic experiments for measuring tremors on the moon.  His varied career included work on the Alaskan Pipeline and the design of corrosion laboratory for the Mead Paper Company.

Dr. Frank C. Laubach


World literacy missionary at-large.  Teacher of millions.  With degrees from Princeton and Columbia Universities and Union Theological Seminary, he pioneered literacy as the first step toward ending the suffering and exploitation of the world’s disadvantaged.  His “each one teach one” method employed instructional materials in over 300 languages in 103 countries.  Laubach Literacy International was founded in 1955 to further the training of instructional staff.

Dr. John Herbert Laubach

Class of 1947

Through linguistics, law, and politics, he helped craft parliamentary democracy in American and European settings.  As a constitutional scholar, he promoted understanding of church-state relations in America.  Awarded B.A., Penn State, 1953, Ph.D., Harvard University, 1958, Fulbright Scholar, Bonn, Germany, 1955-19578.  Professor, Political Science, Otterbein College, 1958-1991.  Benton Borough Council, 2001-2003.

Russell M. Shultz

Class of 1920

Senior Vice-President, National Biscuit Company (Later, “Nabisco”).  Following graduation from Penn State in 1926, he developed leading products for Nabisco where he served for 36 years.  He was best known for developing the “Ritz Cracker” and Lorna Doone cookies.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.